Congressional Hispanic Caucus Statement on House CHC Members Unanimously Supporting the Article of Impeachment Against President Trump

Jan 11, 2021
Press Release

Washington, D.C.—Today, Members of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus, under the Chairmanship of Congressman Raul Ruiz, M.D. (CA-36), released the statement below regarding their support for the impeachment of President Donald J. Trump. All 34 House Members of the CHC have co-sponsored the article of impeachment charging President Trump with incitement of insurrection. The article is co-lead by U.S. Congressmen David Cicilline (RI-01), Ted Lieu (CA-33), and Jamie Raskin (MD-08).

“The day of the electoral college vote certification, President Trump invited his supporters to join him at a rally, inciting them with lies and encouraging them to storm the Capitol. Various members of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus were on the House floor and in the gallery carrying out their constitutional duties while thousands attacked the Capitol. Many of Trump’s loyalists and insurgents—who belong to white supremacy nationalist organizations—were armed, wore anti-Semitic symbols, carried the confederate flag, and hung nooses. They targeted political leaders with the intent of unlawfully keeping Donald Trump in power.

"The Congressional Hispanic Caucus House Members today call for the immediate removal and impeachment of President Donald J. Trump. We took an oath to uphold the Constitution and protect our democracy. It is clear that every moment Trump remains in office, America is at risk. President Trump must be held accountable. For these reasons, the 34 House Members of the CHC unanimously support the article of impeachment against Donald J. Trump.”


The Congressional Hispanic Caucus (CHC), founded in December 1976, is organized as a Congressional Member organization, governed under the Rules of the U.S. House of Representatives. The CHC is dedicated to voicing and advancing, through the legislative process, issues affecting Hispanics in the United States, Puerto Rico and U.S. Territories.